Shani Davis

Lately, my mind has been all over the place. I don’t feel like writing a single post, so here’s a few juicy things and people that have caught my attention recently:

1. Shani Davis (speed skater)

I’m not even going to front. I’ve never been a big fan of the winter olympics (track and field is where its at!) until this guy came along. Watching him speed past his opponent tonight and win gold, really gave me some genuine happiness. He’s cute, FAST, the first black athlete to win a gold medal in an individual Winter Games sport (in 2006), and appears to be humble. Go Shani!

2. The Denzel Principle: Why Black Women Can’t Find Good Black Men by Jimi Izrael

Some books just shouldn’t be written. This is one of them. The “single, lonely black woman” phenomenon has taken the world by storm and this is its latest manifestation; a man writes a book instructing black women how to find their own “Denzels.” Wow. According to the book, “…what does your very own Denzel look like?  Well, he’s rich but earthy, handsome but not pretty, doting but not docile, tough but vulnerable, political but not radical, passionate but not hysterical, ambitious but not overbearing, well-read but not nerdy, manly but not macho, gentle but not feminine, Black but not militant, sexy but not solicitous, flirtatious but particular…and all that on cue and in proper measure.” Well, thank you for Jimi for providing an exact definition of every “good” black man in the world. Good luck to those who don’t fit into that rigid definition. You might as well be called the “Morgan Freeman.” Just kidding.

3. Haiti post- Earthquake News Coverage

Where did it go? Hmmmm.

4. Corinne Bailey Rae “The Sea” and Sade “Soldier of Love”

If you’re in search of music that takes you on a journey, listen to these albums. I can’t explain the feeling I get when I listen to Corinne Bailey Rae’s song “Are You Here” -it’s an odd mixture of emotion, like I want to cry, dance, and sing at the same time. I also like that her lyrics are in some ways like poetry. Sade’s newest offering also evokes emotion in me. My favorite tracks are “Morning Bird” and “In Another Time.” Sade is so timeless.

5. Mary J. Blige as Nina Simone in a bio-pic film

There is talk that this film is in the works. I’m sorry, but I just don’t see it. I’ve been a fan of Mary since What’s the 411, but I’m just not sure that passionate singing always transfers to good acting. I’m also not convinced that she can pull off portraying the High Priestess of Soul- a woman who could go from extreme joy to deep sadness within the course of one song. There are plenty of passionate actresses who could nail this role, some established, some emerging. Why not give them a chance before turning an amazing life story and potential film, into something less. Hmmmm……

Thanks for reading!

Nina Simone

